Choose to do Better

By: Wafaa Manasrah

SubhanAllah, recently I realized how much my actions reflect on my belief. It is not that I do not care, it is just that I choose not to show that I do. Personally, I think not being able to show that I care is worse than actually not caring. This is because even though I do have that potential to express that care, I do not because something is holding me back. It could be a lack of understanding, laziness or maybe even fear. These reasons jeopardize my growth as a Muslim, both personally and spiritually.

Elie Wiesel said that, “The opposite of love is not hate, it is indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it is indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it is indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it is indifference.”

I would like to concentrate on the first part of the quote that says, “The opposite of love is not hate, it is indifference.” The process of caring goes from love, to hate, then to indifference. So do not let things reach the point of indifference. When you love, show it and act upon it. The love I have for the Deen, for Allah(swt), and Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) needs to be shown. Acts of worship (prayer, supplication, etc) are a sure way to act upon the care that I have. Being lazy, “forgetting” to pray on time, and “forgetting” to recite my quran, are all acts of indifference.

In the end, deciding not to do something is also a choice. To change that for the better, I must choose to do better.

Leave a Reply

