You do not have to be a speaker – TAM 09 thought #1

I just got mentally conscious after the amazing weekend in DC with more than 200 MAS members gathering to discover MAS mission. For the past 48 hours since I left the meeting heading home*, I was living under the strong emotional and intellectual impact this TAM left on me and I am sure on many of those who were there. Every time I receive an email regarding this event, I read it with my heart and start tearing while remembering the huge blessings we went through especially towards the end when we all renewed our commitment to MAS, its mission, to each other, to America, to Islam, and to Allah (swt).

Now that I am a little back to my mental normality, I started reading the emails again. I found there are many lessons to learn. I also thought of sharing these thoughts for the blessings to spread and for all of us to learn. I was a speaker. That was my only role. At the times when I wasn’t speaking, I was inside the meeting room listening, sharing my thoughts and posing my questions. I realized that the program is smooth, no parents are upset as they usually are because of their kids, and no kids are “escaping” from the children program trying to be around in the hotel hallways and meeting rooms. I realized that many things are falling together and many things are happening. I was so encouraged by this and I felt Allah’s barakah surrounding us.

The hidden soldiers

As an attendee, I received an email from the local TAM chair thanking us for coming and asking us to evaluate. He used the opportunity to thank his team who helped in organizing and making this event successful. My name appeared of course as one of the speakers but I realized that my name was a one out of many many people whom I do not know, I did not see, and did not even felt they existed in this event. They are so many clustered around committees and playing different roles. I looked over the email again and I saw my name once and I was happy to be listed in such a group.

I then thought that I was enjoying my speech, probably felt a little content when people liked my presentations or when they laughed on a joke I made. I enjoyed listening and learning discussing and asking questions. Those other people did not even attend the program nor did they interacted with anyone. I felt that I got back some of my reward while Allah kept their reward intact. One of these hidden soldiers said, “I am not attending the TAM this year. I will put all my energy in making the TAM successful for everyone, for it won’t be successful unless the children program is successful.

After reading the TAM evaluation results, talking to some parents, meeting some the kids, and listening to my wife getting news from her friends who attended the TAM, I realized how small my role was and how great these people are. Our mission is very heavy. Many roles need to be played and it is not only about public speaking or teaching. There are many many roles we can play and we can have the same or even bigger effect. I will end by saying that when a report came to Omar Ibn Al-Khattab listing the names of those who died in the battle field it was concluded by, ” … and many others you do not know Ya Amir Al-Mo’mineen.” Omar responded, tearing, “What harm would go to them if Omar does not them; Allah does!”

3 thoughts on “You do not have to be a speaker – TAM 09 thought #1

  1. I really like this reflection. There are so many people who put in so much time and effort to make the TAM a success and maybe because they aren’t on the forefront they do not get any recognition. For those brothers and sisters, May the reward of Allah be the most satisfying recognition of your efforts.

Leave a Reply

